December 13, 2017

20 new mineral deposits identified in Ethiopia this year


Ethiopia has identified 20 new mineral deposits in their region this year. This is according to a report from the Geological Survey of Ethiopia (GSE) and this has led to an increase in the national total up in the 2013/14 fiscal year.

Some of the deposits that were discovered include; gypsum, limestone, marble and potash. Nineteen of these deposits are found in Oromia, with seven in the Gugi zone, six in south-west Oromia and six in Holeta and Meki. The 20th, which is a coal deposit, was found in Wolkite town in the Southern Regional State.

The GSE has the mandate of collecting fundamental geosciences information from the whole country and publicize to all stakeholders. It is required to carry out geological mapping and investigations related to mineral resources, oil and natural gas, hydrogeology and engineering geology and it also undertakes geochemical analysis of solid and liquid samples, physical property testing and petro graphic and mineralogical studies.

Related posts